Skip to product information
1 of 3

T. Rex – Bolan's Zip-Gun (2015 Reissue on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £19.99 GBP
Regular price £26.99 GBP Sale price £19.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

T. Rex – Bolan's Zip-Gun (2015 Reissue on 180g Vinyl)

Released on 16 February 1975, Bolan’s Zip Gun is the sixth studio album by T. Rex (their tenth since their debut as Tyrannosaurus Rex in 1968).

Although the sound of the album was very stark and the lyrics very simple and direct, Bolan had tried to go beyond the rock format of the previous T. Rex sound and reflect his recent immersion in the US soul scene.

Several of the songs had a very futuristic tone, especially Space Boss, Think Zinc, and Golden Belt, Bolan being a great fan of science fiction. The band on this album also featured a twin-drum sound on some tracks, notably Solid Baby, provided by Davy Lutton and Paul Fenton.

Eight of the eleven songs on the album had already been released in the US the previous year on the Light of Love album. Zip Gun was a repackage with three extra tracks. However, it was the only T. Rex album that failed to chart in the UK.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Light of Love
  2. Solid Baby
  3. Precious Star
  4. Token of My Love
  5. Space Boss
  6. Think Zinc 

Side Two

  1. Till Dawn
  2. Girl In the Thunderbolt Suit
  3. I Really Love You Babe
  4. Golden Belt
  5. Zip Gun Boogie