Skip to product information
1 of 3

Monty Python – Monty Python's Previous Record (2019 Vinyl Reissue)

Regular price £14.99 GBP
Regular price £19.99 GBP Sale price £14.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Monty Python’s Previous Record is the third album by Monty Python. Released in 1972, it marked the group’s first collaborations with regular sound engineer Andre Jacquemin as well as musician Neil Innes, who had previously appeared with future members of the Python team on Do Not Adjust Your Set. The album contains many sketches from the third series of Flying Circus, one (Fish Licence) from the second as well as an abridged version of The Tale of Happy Valley from the second German show. The album was released midway through the broadcast of Series 3, whose sketches featured on the album were all from its first half, with the exception of Dennis Moore which aired a month later and therefore made its debut here. The oldest sketch on the album, Eric Idle’s Radio Quiz Game, dates back to I’m Sorry I’ll Read That Again where it was performed by Graeme Garden – Idle having subsequently performed the sketch himself on two editions of Do Not Adjust Your Set. The rest of the material was specially written for the album.

The cover design, by Terry Gilliam, pictured an elongated arm which wrapped around both sides of the sleeve. Its hand can be seen trying to catch a six-breasted woman with butterfly wings. 

The album reached No.39 in the UK album chart.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. Introduction
  2. Are You Embarrassed Easily?
  3. A Book at Bedtime
  4. Dennis Moore
  5. Money Programme
  6. Money Song
  7. Dennis Moore (Part 2)
  8. Dennis Moore Song
  9. Australian Table Wine
  10. Dennis Moore Song (Part 2)
  11. Argument
  12. How to Do It
  13. Dennis Moore Song (Part 3)
  14. Pepperpots
  15. Personal Freedom
  16. Dennis Moore Song (Part 4)
  17. Fish Licence
  18. Eric the Half-a-Bee
  19. Radio Quiz Game
  20. Travel Agent

Side Two

  1. Massage from the Swedish Prime Minister
  2. Silly Noises
  3. Anne Elk
  4. Yangtse Sketch
  5. Yangtse Song
  6. Massage from the Swedish Prime Minister (Part 2)
  7. A Minute Passed
  8. Eclipse of the Sun
  9. Alistair Cooke
  10. Wonderful World of Sound
  11. Funerals at Prestatyn
  12. Massage from the Swedish Prime Minister (Part 3)
  13. Happy Valley


    Performer: Monty Python

    Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

    Label: Virgin EMI Records

    Catalogue No: 806113

    Barcode: 602508061134

    Release Date: 30 Aug 2019