Skip to product information
1 of 2

Deep Purple – Machine Head (CD)

Regular price £3.99 GBP
Regular price £7.99 GBP Sale price £3.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Released on 25 March 1972, Machine Head is the sixth studio album released by Deep Purple. The album was recorded in December 1971 at Montreux, Switzerland.

As previous recording sessions had been slotted into the group’s gigging schedule, Deep Purple wanted to dedicate time to record an album away from the typical studio environment, hoping it would result in a sound closer to their live shows. They hired the Rolling Stones' mobile studio for recording, and block-booked the Montreux Casino as a venue, but during a Frank Zappa concert immediately before the sessions, the casino burned to the ground.

After a week of searching for an alternate venue, including a session at a nearby theatre that was abandoned due to noise complaints, the band managed to book the Grand Hotel, closed for the winter, and converted it into a live room suitable for recording. These events, particularly the casino fire, became the inspiration for Deep Purple classic Smoke on the Water.

Machine Head is Deep Purple’s most commercially successful album, topping the charts in several countries, including No. 1 in the UK. Influential in the development of traditional metal, it continues to be viewed favourably by music critics.

Track Listing

  1. Highway Star
  2. Maybe I’m a Leo
  3. Pictures of Home
  4. Never Before
  5. Smoke On the Water
  6. Lazy
  7. Space Truckin’