Skip to product information
1 of 4

Buckingham Nicks – Before the Glitter Faded: Rare Demos 1973–1974 (12-Inch Album)

Regular price £24.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £24.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Buckingham Nicks – Before the Glitter Faded: Rare Demos 1973–1974 (12-Inch Album)

Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks didn’t just emerge out of complete obscurity when they joined Fleetwood Mac in 1975. The pair had previously released their only studio album together in September 1973. As a complement to that record, a series of demos recorded by the duo also exist, often titled the Coffee Plant Demos.

The two were writing songs together and recording at night in Daly City on a half-inch four-track Ampex tape machine, which Buckingham kept at the coffee roasting plant belonging to his father. There isn’t a single song on the tape which features on the Buckingham Nicks album, so this set of very strong material can be seen as the de-facto Buckingham Nicks debut.

Also featured here are the Cathouse Blues Demos, recorded by Nicks in the early 70s without Buckingham. Again this material is wonderfully well-crafted, with certain songs later seeing the light of day as either Fleetwood Mac tracks, or on Stevie’s solo albums as fully formed studio versions.

These recordings remain cherished among fans as a rare treasure, offering a glimpse into the early days of two iconic musicians before they embarked on their legendary careers with Fleetwood Mac. These demos serve as a testament to the artistic chemistry of the duo.

Track Listing:

Side 1

  1. Without You

  2. Nomad

  3. That’s Alright

  4. Garbo

  5. Sorcerer

  6. Cathouse Blues

  7. Goldfish and the Ladybug

Side 2 

  1. Secret Love

  2. Without You

  3. Candlebright

  4. That’s Alright

  5. Cathouse Blues

  6. Smile At You

  7. Castaway

Side 1 – The Coffee Plant Demos

Side 2 – The Cathouse Blues Demos

Label: Dear Boss

Release Date: 19 Apr 2024