Skip to product information
1 of 3

Bowie – The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars (2016 Reissue Remastered on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £29.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £29.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars is the fifth studio album by David Bowie, released on 16 June 1972. It was produced by Bowie and Ken Scott and features Bowie’s backing band the Spiders from Mars — Mick Ronson, Trevor Bolder and Mick Woodmansey. Most of the songs were written around the same time as its predecessor Hunky Dory. After that album was completed, recording for Ziggy Stardust commenced in November 1971 at Trident Studios in London, with further sessions in early February 1972.

Described as a rock opera and a loose concept album, Ziggy Stardust concerns Bowie’s titular alter ego Ziggy Stardust, a fictional androgynous, bisexual rock star who is sent to Earth as a saviour before an impending apocalyptic disaster. The character was inspired by numerous musicians, including English singer Vince Taylor. Most of the album’s concept was developed after the songs were recorded. The character was retained for the subsequent Ziggy Stardust Tour.

The music on Ziggy Stardust has been characterised as glam rock and proto-punk. The songs were influenced by Iggy Pop of the Stooges, Lou Reed of the Velvet Underground, and Marc Bolan of T. Rex. The album’s lyrics discuss the artificiality of rock music, political issues, drug use, sexual orientation and stardom. The album cover, photographed by Brian Ward in monochrome and recoloured by Terry Pastor, was taken in London, outside the home of furriers 'K. West'.

Preceded by the single Starman, Ziggy Stardust peaked at No. 5 in the UK and No. 75 in the US. The album received widespread critical acclaim and, following his performance of Starman on the English television programme Top of the Pops, propelled Bowie to stardom. It has since been called one of the most important albums in the glam rock genre and one of the greatest albums of all time.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Five Years
  2. Soul Love
  3. Moonage Daydream
  4. Starman
  5. It Ain't Easy

Side Two

  1. Lady Stardust
  2. Star
  3. Hang on to Yourself
  4. Ziggy Stardust
  5. Suffragette City
  6. Rock 'n' Roll Suicide


Format: Vinyl / 12" Album

Label: Rhino

Catalogue No: 0825646287376

No of Discs: 1

Release Date: 26 Feb 2016