Skip to product information
1 of 3

Ramones – Ramones (2018 Reissue Remastered on 180g Vinyl)

Regular price £26.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £26.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Released on 23 April 1976, Ramones is the eponymous debut studio album by punk rock legends Ramones.

After Hit Parader editor Lisa Robinson saw the band at a gig in New York City, she wrote about them in an article and contacted Danny Fields, insisting that he be their manager. Fields agreed and convinced Craig Leon to produce Ramones, and the band recorded a demo for prospective record labels. Leon persuaded Sire president Seymour Stein to listen to the band perform, and he later offered the band a recording contract. The Ramones began recording in January 1976, needing only seven days and $6,400 to record the album.

Violence, drug use, relationship issues, humour, and Nazism were prominent in the album’s lyrics. The album opens with Blitzkrieg Bop, which is among the band’s most recognised songs. Most of the album’s tracks are uptempo, with many songs measuring at well over 160 beats per minute. The songs are also rather short; at two-and-a-half minutes, I Don’t Wanna Go Down to the Basement is the album’s longest track.

The album cover, photographed by Punk magazine’s Roberta Bayley, features the four members leaning against a brick wall in New York City. The record company paid only $125 for the front photo, which has since become one of the most imitated album covers of all time. The back cover depicts an eagle belt buckle along with the album’s liner notes.

Ramones was unsuccessful commercially, though it received glowing reviews from critics. Many later deemed it a highly influential record, and it has since received many accolades, such as the top spot on Spin magazine’s list of the ‘50 Most Essential Punk Records’. The album was ranked at No. 33 in Rolling Stone’s 2003 list of the ‘500 Greatest Albums of All Time’.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Blitzkrieg Bop
  2. Beat On the Brat
  3. Judy is a Punk
  4. I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend
  5. Chain Saw
  6. Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue
  7. I Don't Wanna Go Down to the Basement

Side Two

  1. Loudmouth
  2. Havana Affair
  3. Listen to My Heart
  4. 53rd & 3rd
  5. Let's Dance
  6. I Don't Wanna Walk Around With You
  7. Today Your Love, Tomorrow the World


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: Warner Music

Barcode: 081227932756

Release Date: 9 Feb 2018