Skip to product information
1 of 3

The Beatles – Beatles for Sale (2012 Reissue on 180g Vinyl – Features the 2009 Digital Remasters)

Regular price £34.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £34.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This album has been prepared using the 2009 digital remasters which had been created from the original stereo analogue master tapes.

Released on 4 December 1964, Beatles for Sale is the fourth studio album by the Beatles. The album marked a departure from the upbeat tone that had characterised the Beatles’ previous work, partly due to the band’s exhaustion after a series of tours that had established them as a worldwide phenomenon in 1964.

Beatles for Sale received favourable reviews in the UK musical press, where it held the No. 1 spot for 11 of the 46 weeks that it spent in the Top 20. In 2000, Beatles for Sale was voted No. 204 in the third edition of Colin Larkin’s book All Time Top 1000 Albums.

The sessions for Beatles for Sale also produced a non-album single, I Feel Fine backed by She’s a Woman. During the sessions, the band ventured into studio experimentation, such as employing a fade-in and incorporating guitar feedback, and supplemented the basic recordings with percussion instruments such as timpani, African hand drums and chocalho. The album reflects the twin influences of country music and Bob Dylan, whom the Beatles met in New York in August 1964. Partly as a result of the group’s hectic schedule, only eight of the tracks are original compositions, with cover versions of songs by artists such as Carl Perkins, Chuck Berry, Buddy Holly and Little Richard being used to complete the album. The original songs introduced darker musical moods and more introspective lyrics, with John Lennon adopting an autobiographical perspective in I’m a Loser and No Reply.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. No Reply
  2. I'm a Loser
  3. Baby's in Black
  4. Rock and Roll Music
  5. I'll Follow the Sun
  6. Mr. Moonlight
  7. Kansas City / Hey-hey-hey-hey!

Side Two

  1. Eight Days a Week
  2. Words of Love
  3. Honey Don't
  4. Every Little Thing
  5. I Don't Want to Spoil the Party
  6. What You're Doing
  7. Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby


Format: Vinyl / 12” Album

Label: EMI Music UK

Barcode: 0094638241416

Release Date: 12 Nov 2012